Addressing psychiatric inpatients for VTE prevention

A big thanks to Jo Jerrome and Prof Beverley Hunt for inviting me to write here! I’m a psychiatry trainee in Aberdeen. “A psychiatrist on Thrombosis UK…?” I hear you ask? Well yes. Please hear me out a minute. I’ve been a longstanding follower of Thrombosis UK, and this all began when I was having an e-mail exchange with Professor Hunt, and the point of VTE prophylaxis in psychiatry came up.

While there are already some NICE guidelines for psychiatry, which point at the NICE VTE prophylaxis tool, the tool itself is often irrelevant to psychiatry. Patients often have no co-morbid medical illness, and the majority of them are walking around the ward, and off the ward, just like they would at home. Most of my patients do not need VTE prophylaxis.

A select few, however, aren’t so lucky. The severely depressed, who don’t get up save for going perhaps to the toilet, and need constant encouragement to drink (often facing dehydration and AKIs), as well as those who are often heavily sedated or restrained, however, would benefit from it. Although I’m yet to see any of my patients develop a DVT or PE (I do put them on dalteparin empirically when I think they need it), I thought that we could start a discussion here.

Do we need a tool for VTE prophylaxis specifically aimed at psychiatric patients? I think so.

The scenarios in psychiatry that *really* need DVT prophylaxis, that I can think of, are:

• Severely depressed / depressive bipolar patients who aren't getting up and often not drinking.
  • Patients who are being confined to room or even "nursed on mattress" (which is an euphemism for being restrained for a prolonged time, usually by 2 or 3 nurses and bean bags - these you tend to see in IPCU).
  • Agitated (usually psychotic or bipolar, plus the odd borderline EUPD) patients who are getting sedated often, who then get sleepy and lie in bed for long spells.